If only I were

Building Great Software

Hard Visual Studio 2008 Crash

with 4 comments

Visual Studio 2008 has been silently crashing when I open projects which is pretty bad when you are trying to get work done. By “silently crashing” I mean there is no dialogue window with any explanation, there is no beep, nothing. The process just silently vanishes.

I checked the Event Viewer and it is a .NET Runtime error: “.NET Runtime version 2.0.50727.1434 – Fatal Execution Engine Error (79FEC5F0) (80131506).”

It sounds serious to me, so I went into Programs and Features in Vista, right clicked the Framework 3.5 item selected Uninstall/Change and then chose the Repair option. Visual Studio 2008 works fine again.

Written by Chris Sutton

July 3, 2008 at 7:21 am

Posted in Technology

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Do you have multiple monitors? I know it’s a long shot, but VS 2008 was crashing hard for me when I had multi-mon or other monitor managing software.

    Tim Ba

    July 7, 2008 at 10:16 pm

  2. @Tim,

    Interesting, I had been using a second monitor with my laptop when this happened most recently.

    Chris

    Chris Sutton

    July 8, 2008 at 5:39 am

  3. I’m having the same problem, I tried repairing it as well but mine still does the silent crashing (not every time, but often). I am wondering though if how I previously closed out of Visual Studio has something to do with it crashing. When I close Visual Studio is often takes a long time, 30-60 seconds, to actually shut down and sometimes it goes into Not Responding. At that point I just end the task.

    Sam

    April 29, 2009 at 12:09 pm


Leave a Reply

