If only I were

Building Great Software

More on Firefox 3 memory usage

with 4 comments

Ajaxian has a great article on Firefox 3 Beta 4 memory usage. I installed this beta and the memory usage is definitely better.  On the downside it crashes constantly with Yahoo!Mail so I can’t really use it until that clears up. I’ll give it another try after it gets out of beta.

My initial observation about Firefox 3 Beta 4 was that Yahoo!Mail and GMail both loaded in a fraction of the time that it used to take.  Of course Yahoo!Mail crashes so soon afterward that it isn’t useable for me, but there is no question that the Javascript and/or rendering engine is considerable faster than in FF 2.

Written by Chris Sutton

March 13, 2008 at 9:55 pm

Posted in Technology

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I can hardly use yahoo mail any more, almost every time I am on getting or checking mail, it and the connection to the internet just is gone. I am not using anything like Ajaxian, just going straight to yahoo mail like i have for years.

    That problem started after they made a few changes to yahoo mail classic which is what I use.

    Doesn’t happen with any other site or email, just yahoo.

    I can get Firefox to restart that session, but that doesn’t help if i was digging through emails since it just goes back to yahoo, not the email I was reading.

    Is this what happened to you and is it happening to anyone else?

    Steve

    May 13, 2008 at 7:55 pm

  2. @Steve you probably want to go up to the newer Yahoo Mail interface. It was buggy and slow at first, but it really is much better now. FF3 is going to make that experience even better with improved Javascript performance. Once you figure out the new interface it is well worth the upgrade.

    Chris Sutton

    May 14, 2008 at 1:05 pm

  3. Thanks Chris,

    I was just on yahoo, and it’s a mess, I needed to search for a few addresses on there and each search caused it to crash (if that’s the right term where it just disappears and I lose internet connection). Then I was writing an email and it happened for no reason and contrary to what they say, it did not get saved in my drafts, then I rewrote it after getting back on and it happened again, but it only saved half the email.

    So do you think it would happen less if I quit using the classic and went for the newer one?

    I’m willing to try anything, originally I decided not to use the new one because it has too much stuff that I don’t need.

    But if it works better, I guess that’s what I’ll have to do.

    You mention Firefox 3, I only have version 2.0.0.14 and it said no updates are available, is 3 due to come out soon?

    Thanks again Chris, I’ll go set it for the new yahoo now.

    Steve

    May 16, 2008 at 12:16 am

  4. @Steve,

    If I were you I would uninstall of FF and then reinstall based off of the latest FF 2.0 bits (currently 2.0.0.14). If you still if have issues with the new Yahoo Mail interface then there are likely other issues with your operating system.

    FF 3 will come out soon and will really speed up the new Yahoo Mail interface, but it isn’t quite ready yet(5/16/08).

    Chris

    Chris Sutton

    May 16, 2008 at 9:40 am


Leave a Reply

