If only I were

Building Great Software

A New Year in Iowa

with 2 comments

2008 is here and it’s freezing (about 4° F, without wind chill) cold. I pulled out my snowshoes today and hiked for about 40 minutes into a strong headwind. It was a good hike, but I had to duck into a culvert a couple of times to keep my face from freezing. I hope to be outside much more this year (biking, canoeing, hiking, fishing and snowshoeing).

On the tech front I’m going to blog more consistently. Iowa doesn’t currently have many prolific tech bloggers, so I think its time we banded together. Here are a few of the Iowan techies I know: Tim Barcz, Javier Lozano, Arian Kulp, Nick Parker, Tim Gifford and Bryan Sampica.

We are planning the first ever Iowa Code Camp possibly on Saturday March 1st.  There will be more to come on this. If you are interested at all in helping out, please contact me and I’ll get you plugged in. The website is certainly not ready, but I’ll be working on it as I have time.

CRIneta.org held even in attendance and stabilized a bit this year. I’ll likely be president again this year; I’d like to keep the stability and grow the group in 2008. We’ll bring in two Ineta speakers and might get to bring a third national speaker if things work out with one of our sponsors. We’ve also had an excellent experience with our local speakers and want to keep them presenting (Javier, Arian, Nick, Mike Jackson, Eric Johnson and Bryan).

Happy new year.

Written by Chris Sutton

January 1, 2008 at 9:53 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wooo Hooo! I made the list! Let me know about the Iowa Code Camp. Sounds like fun!

    Tim Gifford

    January 3, 2008 at 10:29 am

  2. […] Iowa, Tech Community, Technology, Thoughts — Chris Sutton @ 8:36 pm Early this year I blogged about the general state the .NET community in Eastern Iowa and Iowa in general. Some of the goals […]


Leave a Reply

