If only I were

Building Great Software

Firefox 3 Beta 5 on Hardy Heron

with 4 comments

Firefox 3 is smoking fast on Ubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron). I’ve been testing with Gmail, Yahoo Mail and Google Reader and they all are visibly faster. You can expand a large message thread in Gmail in a couple of seconds now instead of the painfully long lag time that happened in FF2 or IE7.

I have IE 8 beta 1 on my laptop and so many core sites that I use render so poorly that it is not really viable at this point.  The word is out that its JavaScript speed will be much faster.  I hope to see them on par with each other soon.

Written by Chris Sutton

April 26, 2008 at 9:27 am

Posted in Technology

Tagged with ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m a fan of FF3 also but it doesn’t work with firebug… have you had any luck with this???

    Zac

    Zac

    May 2, 2008 at 8:47 am

  2. @Zac

    I haven’t tried it with any plugins yet. I’m hoping they do a full release pretty soon so all of the Add-on builders can update their extensions.

    Chris

    Chris Sutton

    May 4, 2008 at 7:04 am

  3. fast? how about lagging? when i scroll down the page (right side of the mouse’s track pad) rather than a nice smooth scroll (as it was before the update) it is a very jumpy, slow scroll that often leads to firefox hanging.

    I guess it’s better than constant crashing

    Bridge

    May 20, 2008 at 11:31 am

  4. @Bridge,

    Did smooth scrolling get turned off by chance? I haven’t had similar issues, but I’m also using the release candidate now.

    Chris

    Chris Sutton

    May 20, 2008 at 5:18 pm


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

